And I am happy that I crossed ‘that’ line!

I am a girl; I have to stay within limits to be fine.

But to dare be free is crossing the line.

I have rights to stay alone but only to work and make a living

But travelling alone for some ‘me’ time is crossing the line.

I have the rights to be independent to struggle in the local train and save for my own wedding’s dine

But to book a flight to celebrate my birthday in solitude is crossing the line.

I have the rights to be self dependent when I struggle to wake up at 6 even on hitting the bed well after mid night to cook my food

But dining at a good restaurant on the new year’s eve is crossing the line

I have the rights to dance to the tunes of this fast paced city to become successful in life

But dancing to the tunes of a DJ on a weekend after a super hectic week is crossing the line

I have the rights to stay connected to my culture, roots and ethnicity even when working like a modern woman in a cosmopolitan culture

But connecting to my own dreams by leaving the same work and culture for sometime is crossing the line

I have the rights to show dedication to ‘two families’ I associate with, struggling time for myself

But expecting the same from my life partner is crossing the line

But this year, you know what, I crossed that line!

 

I travelled, not with the everyday meeting, yet unknown faces of local trains but with new knowns.

I flew, not in my dreams but with my dreams.

I sang and danced not to the rhythms of this world but with a new world, in a new world.

I connected, with people, with dreams and with myself.

Giving that extra time to that ‘me’ who had started to work to live, who had become independent to find an identity, who had connected to a new world to make it my own, who had become self dependent to be free.

And I set it free by crossing that line.

And I am happy that I crossed ‘that’ line!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment