The MEMO Trip – A Solo with Mom

Doesn’t sound hippy? Doesn’t seem to be bold, adventurous or full of freedom? I would just say take your mom once and do it to believe it!

I have travelled with friends, family, only girls, unknown groups and with myself. None can touch the adventure of this MEMO Trip – A trip of ME and MOM; a trip that did not change my life but defined it better; a trip that did not fill any new energy in me but taught me that I just need a duster to clear the already chalked board. No travel makes a new ‘You’, it just gives that ‘you’ within you some space and time and fresh air to think.

What better can be an experience of giving this space to yourself with the person who knows you the best, loves you the most and thinks of you always! She asked me a day before, “Why can’t we be friends? Like you have other friends, we will also go out, enjoy and share wonderful moments.” One question that almost every parent asks once kids grow up. Because then only friends matter to us. And I thought, do we really need to be friends with our parents? Their bond is supposed to be the apex in our lives then why are they supposed to get that to some other level?

With this thought began our MEMO Trip. A trip that began with an immediate train booking, landed with a RAC confirmation, sharing past lives of both and reaching Amritsar first. Then two days of being there where none of us felt a compromise just to make the other feel good but each of us took one step to look at life in a new way.

Who could think a 44-year-old mom with joint pain issues would do a trek of 16 kms in freezing temperatures and 26 old going to temples is a simple no but blend that well and you will know what joy it was to have travelled with my mom. She made friends like I do. I shopped with her the way she did. We sang and danced, Trekked and camped, cooked at dhabas and travelled in local buses. Nothing different than I would do while alone or with friends on the same trip. But what was beyond this was we know each other more than ever today. We feel more (I more, she always did) for each other more than ever. And the bond that is beyond every other relationship now does not need any other tag life ‘friends’ to sustain.

A simple thought that gave a new life to the oldest relationship. Just think how much will it add to yours.

“Think – this is one thing that we forget even when we think we are thinking a lot.” Just think, when was the last time you really thought about your life, your people, your energy, your choices and above all your wishes. Every other thought in the world has covered the very thoughts that had taught us to think. We think of others, of society, of relatives, of media, of people and then we become what they like, making our wishes turn into dreams. And then we think “I wish my dreams come to reality”! This time when you want to think, think with a different angle and not about other but for you, your people and your life.

Happy Journey!

 

 

 

Leave a comment