Old Resolutions This New Year !!

2015, another new chapter in millions of lives. A hope for those who were fed up with the past . A start for those who had depleting halts and almost new phase for the ones like me; just ending education and entering the corporate world.
I am sure like every year, the creator of this world must still be busy counting the swears and oaths taken on his name and the resolutions he was accounted for.

Right from more number of study hours to more exercise time and from better career focus to a more intense spouse search; I am sure an unending list would have had a presence in many diaries. However, the fact of the matter shall remain the discontinuation of most of them in a quarter of the year or even less for that matter, yet the new to begin new plans and to bury the old dead ones must be the prime thoughts in most minds now.

30th December; even I sat, making a new list.  I had two reasons.  My new year with life started a day before, it being my birthday.  I had to have the thoughts of starting it fresh!!

Surprisingly, this time a strange thought came to my mind. I think, it must have come to the others also but for the first time, like it had happened to me but they might have neglected it as well.!
“What about the incomplete and pending past?”

Is it fair enough to leave it the way it is and start fresh? Above all, is it possible to do so?

Though it is said at times that one could turn the pages of life to begin afresh ,in reality life is no book whose pages could be torn or burnt off to number the successive ones #1.  Our future can never be independent of your past. In fact, it is from our past experiences only that we are planning to shape our future by these new year resolutions.

No road gets erased as you walk ahead. We might always want and plan new beginnings but can never get them at the cost of neglecting the old memories and acts.

How could I take out time for craft work if I couldn’t give justice to  the time I decided for writing and practicing singing? How could I then, plan more study hours if I couldn’t give justice to my personal life with the previous schedule only?

How could I make new friends if I’ve badly spoilt relations with ‘besties’ in the past?

It becomes easy to neglect the past and start fresh at times but this freshness gets stale very soon. No story is complete without a start, however long it may become.

The only resolution after this thought that I wrote that day was, “I would mend my shattered past this year.”

I would try to write those cacographic pages of my life again than tearing them off. I would turn back once to find the broken bonds and join them first before making new ones.

I would make a ‘new season’ for my old resolutions.

Try doing the same, you might find better beginnings in the shadows of your past.!!

Leave a comment